Procedure San Bernardino County Probation Department

4 2 2 Procedures Manual

Reporting of Suspected Child Abuse

422.1 PURPOSE:

The reporting of known or suspected child abuse, as outlined in California Law and this procedure,
is the legal and departmental responsibility of all department employees and all those working or
acting under the authority of the department.

422.2 DEFINITIONS:

Child Abuse: An injury inflicted by other than accidental means on a child by another person. It also
includes physical, emotional, and sexual abuse, as well as neglect. Child abuse does not include
"mutual combat between minors", "reasonable and necessary force used by a peace officer" under
specified circumstances, or spanking that is reasonable and age appropriate and does not expose
the child to risk of serious injury.

Neglect: The negligent treatment or maltreatment of a child by a person responsible for the child's
welfare under circumstances indicating harm or threatened harm to the child's health or welfare.
The term includes both acts and omissions on the part of the responsible person.

Mandated Reporters: Any employee of any police department, sheriff's department, probation
department, welfare department, firefighter, physician, dentist, teacher, licensed nurse, social
worker, or other profession as indicated in the California Penal Code.

Failure by a mandated reporter to report known or suspected abuse is a misdemeanor and is
punishable by a term in county jail not to exceed six months or by a fine not to exceed $1,000
or by both fine and imprisonment.

Penal Code Section 11172 (a) provides mandated reporters with immunity from criminal and civil
liability for reporting as required. In the event a civil action is brought against a mandated reporter,
the State Board of Control is legally authorized to reimburse the reporter for attorney's fees up to
a maximum of $50,000. Any other person who reports a known or suspected case of child abuse
is also protected from civil and criminal liability unless it can be proven the person deliberately
made a false report.

Reasonable Suspicion: Objectively reasonable for a person to entertain a suspicion, based upon
facts that could cause a reasonable person in a like position, drawing when appropriate on his or
her training and experience, to suspect child abuse or neglect.

Objectively Reasonable: Learned from an examination of the facts presented to be evaluated (i.e.
observable marks, scratches or bruises) as opposed to accepting subjective statements which are
learned only from information reported. The difference in time between occurrence of abuse and
the reporting of abuse must be considered in evaluating the observable facts and their relevancy
to alleged child abuse. Occurrences of child abuse will be evident if abuse was recent; in other
cases, there may be no observable indications of abuse.

Reasonable Force: The minimum level of force necessary to control a particular situation.
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Peace Officers: Empowered with the authority to use reasonable force necessary to effect an
arrest, prevent escape from custody, or overcome resistance.

Joint Knowledge: When two or more persons who are required to report have joint knowledge of a
known or suspected instance of child abuse or neglect, and there is agreement among them, the
telephone report may be made by the selected team member. A single written report may then be
made and signed by the reporting person. Where there is a failure by the designated person to
make the report, any person who knew shall be responsible for making the child abuse report.

Peace Officer Child Abuse/Neglect: When a Peace Officer used more force than reasonably
necessary to control a particular situation. Penal Code Section 11165.4 specifies there is no
unlawful corporal punishment or injury by a Peace Officer if the amount of force used is reasonable
and necessary for a Peace Officer to quell a disturbance threatening physical injury to a person
or damage to a property; to prevent physical injury to a person or damage to a property; for
purposes of self defense; to obtain possession of weapons or dangerous objects or to apprehend
an escapee.

Unfounded: A child abuse report which is determined by a Children and Family Services
Department investigator to be false, inherently improbable, accidental or not to constitute child
abuse.

422.3 GUIDELINES:

A. All child abuse reporting information, documents, and copies shall be treated as
confidential between the reporting party and the recipient with the exception of
Administrative Services Bureau employees who are conducting an evaluation of the
reporting process or investigating allegations of child abuse by an employee or person
working or acting under the authority of the department.

422.4 RESPONSIBILITIES:

l. Mandated Reporters:

A. If, in the course of their duties, an employee of the Probation Department
becomes aware of, or suspects child abuse, neglect or sexual molestation has
occurred, they shall report that information to the local child protective agency as
soon as possible but no later than 24 hours by telephone and complete a written
report within 36 hours using the Suspected Child Abuse Report (Attachment A).

B. The written report shall be distributed as follows:

1. The child protective agency nearest your location (white and green
copies, which they distribute to the local law enforcement agency having
jurisdiction over the case and the District Attorney's office).

2. Probation Administration, Professional Standards Unit, which is a central
receiving location for all departmental reports (blue copy).

3.  Theyouth's file or Universal Health Record (UHR) (yellow copy).
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Shall use a sealed envelope marked "confidential" in the distribution of copies
of the report.

Shall document the completion of the report in Caseload Explorer (CE) events
and ensure, based on the circumstances of the offense, that the youth is
protected.

If there is reason to believe the suspected abuse was caused by an employee
or other person working or acting under the authority of the department, the
appropriate Division Director and/or Deputy Chief Probation Officer shall be
notified at the earliest time possible by telephone and e-mail.

Il. Division Director/Manager:

A.

Shall ensure that employees and anyone working or acting under the authority
of the probation department assigned to their division receive training regarding
the requirements of a mandated reporter.

Shall contact the Deputy Chief Probation Officer for arrangements to initiate
appropriate action when an allegation involving an employee or anyone working
or acting under the authority of the department is made.

I1l.  Professional Standards Unit:

A.

Shall verify upon receipt of the report copy to Professional Standards that the
suspect of a suspected child abuse report is not a past or current department
employee or associate.

When a suspect is determined to be an employee or associate of the department,
the Division Director shall determine whether local law enforcement is to be
contacted and a criminal investigation initiated. Copies of all relevant reports and
information obtained extraneous to an Administrative Hearing shall be turned
over to the investigating law enforcement agency if a criminal investigation is
initiated.

If the Probation Department conducts a child abuse report investigation instead
of Children & Family Services, the Department shall forward a report to the
Department of Justice as described in Penal Code Section 11169.

The Chief Probation Officer shall determine if administrative leave is appropriate
when an allegation is made concerning an employee or a person working or
acting under the authority of the department, and provide a written directive to
that person prohibiting contact with any alleged victims during the course of any
investigation and any subsequent court proceeding. A temporary reassignment
may be necessary to ensure no contact with any alleged victim.

4225 ATTACHMENTS:
See attachment: Reporting of Suspected Child Abuse Attachment A (Lexipol 10-7-11).pdf
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SUSPECTED CHILD ABUSE REPORT

To Be Completed by Mandated Child Abuse Reporters

Pursuant to Penal Code Section 11166 CASE NAME:
PLEASE PRINT OR TYPE CASE NUMBER:
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( ) DEFINITIONS AND INSTRUCTIONS ON REVERSE

DO NOT submit a copy of this form to the Department of Justice (DOJ). The investigating agency is required under Penal Code Section 11169 to submit to DOJ a
Child Abuse Investigation Report Form SS 8583 if (1) an active investigation was conducted and (2) the incident was determined not to be unfounded.

WHITE COPY - Police or Sheriff's Department; BLUE COPY - County Welfare or Probation Department; GREEN COPY - District Attorney's Office; YELLOW COPY - Reporting Party
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